2022 Review Committee Candidates

Denise Brown

Over 20+ years in USMS and Michigan Masters swimming.

  1. Michigan Masters Secretary for four terms (8 Years)
  2. Open Water Coordinator
  3. Past and current member of Michigan Masters Review Committee

Barb Church

My background in engineering and being a member of the Michigan Masters group for over 15 years has given me the knowledge necessary to do a great job.  My background includes:

  1. Mechanical engineering where I learned computer skills necessary to write technical reports and create presentations
  2. In 2012 ‘til 2021 I was the recording secretary for the Wyandotte Auxiliary which included the following responsibilities
    1. Informed the membership by e-mail the following
      1. Sent out volunteer competencies forms
      2. Sent out financial reports
  • Sent out the Echo (Auxiliary newsletter)
  1. Sent out the meeting minutes
  1. Created a picture presentation at the Award Ceremony and sent it to members by e-mail
  2. Created 8 picture dedications for members who passed away and mailed them to their family
  3. Responsible for putting the Echo together – 6 echo’s per year
  4. 60thanniversary contribution was
    1. Summarizing the Auxiliary History on 4 pages to be put in the cafeteria
    2. Updated the Auxiliary Donation Sheets

Between my position at the Wyandotte Auxiliary, my engineering career and being retired, I have the necessary qualifications and time required for the Membership Coordinator position.  I look forward in serving the Michigan Masters Community.

 

Ralph Davis

Over 25+ years in USMS and Michigan Masters swimming.

  1. Michigan Masters Treasurer (14+ Years)
  2. Past Michigan LMSC Vice-Chair & Chair
  3. USMS National Office holder

 

Frank “Skip” Thompson

Frank “Skip” Thompson has been an active leader in our organization since he became a member of Michigan Masters in 1982.  In the Michigan Masters LMSC he served as Vice-President from 1989 – 1991, 2001-2003, and 2013-2015. Then President – Chairman from 1991-1993, 2003-2005, and from 2015 – 2017.  He also held the offices of Treasurer from 1987 – 1991, Secretary from 1999 – 2001, Fitness Chair from 1993 – 1994, Records Chair from 1993 – 1997 and 2010 – 2020, and Sanctions Chair from 2005 – 2011. On the National level, he served as Great Lakes Zone Chair from 1992 – 1999. From the fall of 2015 to the fall of 2019, I was elected to the National level as Vice President of Community Services and had responsibilities for the Coaches, Fitness, and Sports Medicine Committees. Both of these National level positions were part of the USMS Board of Directors.

Not only have I held almost all elected offices in our LMSC, but I have contributed an immense amount of time and effort to ensure that our LMSC is active and vital.  I acted as Coach for the SOS Masters Swim Team for more than 25 years, and also during that time served as Michigan LMSC Club Coordinator for our club teams at National USMS and YMCA Meets, most recently leading our Michigan Masters Club to a second place Regional Team finish at the 2018 SCY Spring USMS Nationals held in Indianapolis.

On April 16, 2011 at the Michigan Masters State Championship Meet, I was presented the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. The recipient of this award is an individual who has demonstrated outstanding voluntary contributions and a lifetime dedication and devotion to the objectives of Masters swimming in Michigan. In the last year I celebrated my 41st year as a Michigan Masters registered swimmer and I am one of only 3 swimmers that have been a continuous member for 41 straight years.

On April 19, 2020 on a USMS ZOOM surprise meeting, I was presented the prestigious Ransom J. Arthur Award from the USMS National Organization for extensive volunteer service and this coveted award goes to the volunteer who has done the most to further the objectives of Masters swimming and has been awarded since 1973.

The following is a brief overview of my accomplishments within the Master’s swimming community.

I started running the local SCY/SCM meets from 1984 until 2019 at OCC, U of M, and EMU. I started running the Dearborn/EMU Long Course Meets in 1987 until 2019 for 32straight years. In addition to these local meets, I have been Meet Director for 15 State Championship Meets in a 34 year span and that is more than anyone in Michigan LMSC. I was elected Treasurer in 1987 for my first LMSC Officer position and have served terms of Secretary, Records/Top Ten, Fitness Chair, Coaches Chair, Officials Chair, Vice Chair, and LMSC Chair. The only volunteer position I have not filled is that of Registrar Coordinator.  In 1991, I received the Chetrick Award for outstanding service to the Michigan LMSC.

At the National level of USMS, I have served on the Championship, Long Range Planning, Coaches, Rules, Legislation, Zone, and Nominating Committees. I have been involved in special projects at the National level, such as the USMS National Elections, USMS National Time Standards, USMS Coach of the Year parameters, and the USMS History and Archives project. In 1999, I received the Dorothy Donnelly USMS Service Award for outstanding service to the National Organization.

Some recent accomplishments that have been spearheaded by myself in the past 15 years include: initiation of online registration for the Michigan Masters State Championship Meet, proposing a rule change at the National USMS level allowing 18 year-olds to swim in Masters meets, initiating a change to the universal use of HyTek Meet Manager software by all hosts of Michigan Masters swim meets, overseeing the reporting of recent meet results on the Michigan Masters website and on the Events Results database on the USMS website (which enables our swimmers to gauge how their times compare to others in their age group), and acting as Michigan Masters liaison for new swimmers seeking information about teams/workout groups or masters swimming in general. In 2011, Sally Guthrie and I initiated the first annual LMSC Awards banquet to honor swimmers accomplishments in and out of the water. It was a large success and the LMSC has hosted 9 successful Awards banquets since that time.

I have been coaching within Michigan Masters since 1984, coached the South Oakland Seals from 1984 until 2008 and in that 25 year time frame won 15 Large and 3 Small Team Championships. From the fall of 1988 until the spring of 2000, the South Oakland Seals won 12 straight State Championships at 9 different facilities around the state of Michigan.  In 1996, at the USMS Long Course Nationals in Ann Arbor, coached the Michigan Masters team of 228 swimmers to a Women’s, Men’s, and Combined National Championship. I have been team rep/coach every year except 1995 at the USMS Nationals that I have attended. For these efforts I was selected the 2000 USMS Coach of the Year from the USMS Coaches Committee for both my local and national accomplishments.

My swimming accomplishments include the following: 12 time USMS Individual Event All American (4 Pool, 8 Long Distance) 14 time USMS Relay All American, FINA World Top Ten Champion, FINA Relay World Record Holder, USMS and YMCA National Record Holder and USMS and YMCA National Champion. Have swim to 19 YMCA National individual titles and 16 USMS National individual titles. I have 261 USMS top ten swims and has 111 FINA World top ten swims.  In 1995, I received the Lawrence Award from Michigan Masters for outstanding swimming performances in National competition.

I believe in PVC, which stands for Participation, Volunteerism, and Competition. I strive to do each of these every year. Currently, I have participated in 37 straight State Championship meets dating back to 1983. Currently, I have been a USMS delegate for 35 straight years and that is the longest continuous years of any Michigan LMSC swimmer and was featured in the March/April 2011 issue of Swimmer magazine in the section “Inside USMS” for the Volunteer Profile. Since 1987, I have competed in at least 1 USMS National Championship Pool Meet for 35 straight years (with the exception of the 2020 COVID19 year) and have dedicated a major portion of my life of over 40 years to ensuring that the Michigan LMSC runs efficiently so that swimmers in our LMSC can enjoy their masters swimming experience.

Resume of my responsibilities as a Volunteer

USMS Responsibilities

1988 – 2021 – USMS Convention Delegate                                                                                                                                            1989 – 1993 – Championship Committee                                                                                                                                                   1992 – 1999 – Great Lakes Zone Representative                                                                                                                                 1992 – 1999 – USMS Board of Directors                                                                                                                    1992 – 1999 – Zone Committee and Nominating Committee                                                                                                     1993 – 2002 – Long Range Planning Committee                                                                                                                                2000 – 2007 – Coaches Committee                                                                                                                                                           2008 – 2011 – Rules Committee                                                                                                                                                                  2012 – 2015 – Legislation Committee                                                                                                                                                  2013 – 2015 – History & Archives Committee                                                                                                                                                       2015 – 2019 –  Vice President of Community Services/USMS BOD                                                                        2020 – Present – Chair of History & Archives Committee

LMSC Responsibilities

1987 – 1991 – Treasurer of the Michigan LMSC                                                                                                     1989 – 1991 – Vice Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                                 1991 – 1993 – Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                                                              1999 – 2001 – Secretary of the Michigan LMSC                                                                                                  1993 – 1995 – Fitness Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                                          1993 – 1997 – Records & Top Ten Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                       2001 – 2003 – Vice Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                              2003 – 2005 – Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                                                            2005 – 2013 – Sanctions Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                   2009 – 2013 – Officials Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                                          2010 – 2020 – Records & Top Ten Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                 1984 – 2013 – Coach – Team Representative of the Michigan Masters Club                  2013 – 2015 – Vice Chairman of the Michigan LMSC                                                              2015 – 2017 –  Chairman of the Michigan LMSC

Meet Administration

Meet Director – Michigan Masters State Championship Meet – 1985, 1989, 1992, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016, and 2018.                                                                                                                                  Meet Director – Great Lakes Zone Championship Meet – 1988 LCM, 1990 SCM, and 1997 SCY.               Meet Director – Local SCY Masters Swim Meet – 1984 – 2020. Meet Director Local LCM Meet 1984-2019.

National Championships Meet Administration

Records/Top Ten National Liaison – 1996 USMS Long Course Nationals – University of Michigan

USMS Championship Committee – Served as a Meet Evaluator/Liaison for the following USMS National Championships – 1990 SC Nationals USC Los Angeles, 1991 LC Nationals Elizabethtown KY, 1992 LC Nationals Federal Way, WA and 1993 LC Nationals, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN.

USMS Rules Committee – Served as a Rules Evaluator/Liaison for the following USMS National Championships – 2008 SC Nationals, University of Texas, Austin, 2009 LC Nationals, IUPUI Indianapolis, 2010 SC Nationals, Georgia Tech University, Atlanta, and 2011 SC Nationals, Mesa, Arizona.                  Achieved USMS Officials certification as a Starter and Stroke/Turn Official and working on Meet Referee Certification. Worked my first National Championship meet at the 2022 Spring Nationals in San Antonio.

Coaching – Team Accomplishments

Coach/Team Representative of the South Oakland Seals from 1984 until 2008. Responsible for administrating workouts 12 months a year. The team has been Michigan Masters State Champions 15 times (82, 85, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 00, 02) more than any other team in Michigan Masters history.

Coach/Team Representative of the Plymouth YMCA from 1988 until 2009. Overall Team Combined National YMCA Champions (1993). Men’s National YMCA Championships (1993) and Women’s National YMCA Champions (1994).

Coach/Team Representative of the Michigan Masters Club from 1984 until the 2019. 1996 USMS Long Course National Champions in Women, Men, and Combined Categories. 2002 USMS Long Course Nationals – Highest Visiting Club in Women, Men, and Combined Categories. 2004 USMS Short Course Nationals – Women’s National Champions. 2009 USMS Long Course Nationals – Regional Club National Champions. 2013 USMS Short Course Nationals – Regional and Overall Club National Champions. 2014 Canadian National Championships – Highest scoring Club in the meet. 2015 USMS Long Course Nationals – Regional Club National Champions. 2018 USMS Short Course Nationals – 2ndPlace Regional Club and 2ndplace Overall. Achieved USMS Level 4 Coaching at the 2015 USMS Spring Short Course Nationals in April 2015 and represent the top 1-2% of Certified Coaches at this level. Selected as one of the Coaches of the USMS High Performance Camp in Greensboro in August 2015.

Committee Projects Assignments and Accomplishments

Championships Committee – USMS Time Standards for National Championship Meets.                         Planning and Zone Committee – USMS Election Survey for National Officers.                                                    Great Lakes Zone – Implemented a Zone Championship Meet for all 3 courses.                                             History and Archives Committee – Contributed as a key member in the early stages of the project. Coaches Committee – Chair of the USMS Coach of the Year subcommittee from 2001 – 2008.

USMS and Michigan Masters Achievement Awards

1987 – Received the YMCA Service Award from the Greater Detroit Metropolitan YMCA.                                  1991 – Received the Chetrick Award for Outstanding Service to the Michigan LMSC.                                           1995 – Received the Lawrence Award for Outstanding Swimming Performances in the Michigan LMSC.            1999 – Received the USMS Dorothy Donnelly Service Award for Outstanding Service to USMS.                      2000 – Received the USMS National Coach of the Year Award from the USMS Coaches Committee.          2010 – Received the USMS Kerry O’Brien Coaching Award from the USMS Coaches Committee.                   2011 – Received the Michigan Masters Lifetime Achievement Award from the Michigan LMSC.                                      2011 – Received the USMS Club of the Year as part of the Michigan Masters Club as Head Coach/Rep.          2013 – Received the Michigan Masters Coach of the Year Award at the LMSC Awards Banquet.                               2014 – Received the USMS June Krauser Communications Award from USMS Awards Committee.       2018 – Received a Coaching Award from Kalamazoo ZOOM Masters for the 2018 Spring Nationals in Indy.   2019 – Received the Meet Partner Award from the Michigan LMSC for being a Meet Director in 2019.  2020 – Received the USMS Ransom J. Arthur Award from USMS Awards Committee.